Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Jump to main content
Turn on/off screen reader friendly version
Practical information from public offices
Print page


Official name: The Kingdom of Norway

Capital: Oslo

Population: 5 334 762 (April 1st 2019)

Area (sq. km): 385 199

National day: May 17th (Constitution day)

Currency: Norwegian krone (NOK) (1 krone = 100 øre)

Government: Constitutional monarchy and parliamentary democracy. The Norwegian parliament is called the Storting. It has 169 members. Norway is not a member of the European Union (EU), but it is part of the European Economic Area (EEA).


Norway has two types of elections.

  1. General elections – held every four years. Everyone who reaches the age of 18 in the election year and has Norwegian citizenship can vote in a general election.
  2. Municipal and county council elections (also called local elections) – held every four years.

You are entitled to vote in local elections if you:

  • reach the age of 18 in the election year and have Norwegian citizenship.
  • are a citizen of a non-Nordic country and have been registered in the  population register as a resident of Norway for the last three years before the election.
  • are a citizen of another Nordic country and have been registered as a resident of Norway by 30 June in the election year.

There is a two-year interval between general elections and local elections.


Freedom of religion. Protestant Christianity 86%, other Christian faith groups 7,5%, Islam app. 4%, other religions and beliefs app. 2%.

Political geography

Unitary state consisting of 18 counties and two special status areas, the islands of Svalbard and Jan Mayen. The counties are divided into 422 municipalities. The largest municipality is Oslo.

Official languages

Norwegian (bokmål and nynorsk). Sami has equal standing with Norwegian in some municipalities in the counties of Troms and Finnmark. In Norway, dialects have a much higher status than in many other countries. There is no standard spoken language, and most people speak dialect in both private and public contexts. Using dialect is accepted on television, on the radio and in political life. The dialects vary as regards pronunciation, grammar and vocabulary, but are generally mutually understandable.


The coastal climate in Norway is influenced by its proximity to the sea, which makes winters mild and summers relatively cool. In inland areas, the temperature is more directly influenced by the sun, which means hot summers and cold winters. Source: The Norwegian Meteorological Institute. 

Tip a friend

Tip a friend about this page by email